Welcome to the Gulf Shores Pier Fishing Forum.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Bubba Blade Reviews

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sylacauga, AL
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Bubba Blade Reviews

    Any of you tried the Bubba Blade yet. Almost bought one, but would really like to try one out first. Usually use an electric knife on somewhat smaller fish (trout, slot reds, etc) but it can be cumbersome sometimes trying find a power source, etc. Just wanted some reviews on them from some one. Dont mind paying for a good knife, just dont wont to waste money on another one that isnt any better than I have. Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    West Alabama
    Posts
    222
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Terry Looney is the only one I know of that has one. He said he loved it and with the handle material "the wetter it gets the stickier it gets" so no slippage

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to dublthret For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4,779
    Thanks
    2,257
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 639 Posts
    I still like the J&M 5.00 used poultry knives they have for larger fish....and just in my price range too ....I believe a Swiss made knife
    usa and TUCK like this.
    Bill..............

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    441
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 278 Times in 140 Posts
    I did some research on Bubba Blades. They are made from cheaper steel than other knives in that price range. They seem to be a decent knife, but you will be paying a lot for marketing. Also the teflon coating is a gimmick. My suggestion would be a middle of the road Dexter or Victorinox if you want to invest in a higher end knife. I also use the heck out of the reprocessed black knives from J&M ironman mentioned. They cut just fine and you can afford to break or lose one once in a while!
    FinChaser, Psychobilly and TUCK like this.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Pierless For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Montgomery,Al
    Posts
    1,142
    Thanks
    139
    Thanked 343 Times in 148 Posts
    Just a got a new dexter Russell and love it.

  8. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 33 Times in 16 Posts
    Dexter Russell are tough to beat.

  9. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    3,634
    Thanks
    321
    Thanked 1,631 Times in 826 Posts
    I had a Dexter Russell serrated fillet knife back in the day. that thing was scary sharp. Would slice an AJ into steaks in one good swipe and rip through snapper rib bones like they were not there.
    Haywire likes this.
    Carl

    Life is too short to drink bad beer.

    Disclaimer: This post and/or report is not a substantiation of or reflection on the true accuracy of the present stock assessment methods. It is only an anecdotal report on or comment concerning local observations. Your results may vary.

  10. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Orange Beach, AL
    Posts
    4,881
    Thanks
    3,727
    Thanked 11,546 Times in 1,809 Posts
    Amen on the Dexter Russell knives, and for smaller Spanish, trout, etc., I'm real fond of my Rapala 6" fillet knife. I don't think I have but four of those J&M reground knives---hard to beat.

    I spent $40 on a Knives of Alaska fillet knife, but it must be made for Alaskan fish, or for people who only want a little bitty handle, because I haven't been able to use it. Good steel, but just doesn't fit. Anybody want a good knife, cheap?

    Never tried a Bubba Blade, and don't know that I'd want to get a knife that was using such an obvious marketing come-on---selling on a gimmicky name.
    BlkNTan3 likes this.

  11. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Daphne, AL
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 94 Times in 38 Posts
    Brunson Net has Dexters cheap if you think you want one of those.

  12. #10
    AA
    AA is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    221
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 107 Times in 58 Posts
    I just bought a new dexter fillet knife. After cleaning all of those whiting and croakers during the November chewdown with a cheap knife it was time to upgrade. Now if I only had some fish to fillet with it. Was hoping to clean a bunch of sheepies with it but it hasn't happened yet.
    usa likes this.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •