Welcome to the Gulf Shores Pier Fishing Forum.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4,781
    Thanks
    2,265
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 639 Posts

    pencil point opinions

    I started putting the pencil points on the gaffs and have a couple done.....but wanted opinions ....whether these were good enough or need to be a little longer....Thanks in advance

    [img width=640 height=480]http://i44.tinypic.com/141jbqo.jpg[/img]

    [img width=480 height=640]http://i39.tinypic.com/2ypdg6w.jpg[/img]
    Bill..............

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 78 Times in 51 Posts

    Re: pencil point opinions

    No, those are fine. The longer you make them, the narrower the tip section becomes and it will be more likely to bend.

  3. #3
    Go deep or go home
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    chillin' on a reef
    Posts
    1,902
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 226 Times in 99 Posts

    Re: pencil point opinions

    [quote author=the original pier pest link=topic=743.msg6937#msg6937 date=1331683679]
    No, those are fine. The longer you make them, the narrower the tip section becomes and it will be more likely to bend.
    [/quote]

    +1
    Each person can fine tune the point to their individual taste. I use a fine diamond stone and then fine sand paper to put that needle sharp finished point on mine.
    Screw it. Let's ride.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4,781
    Thanks
    2,265
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 639 Posts

    Re: pencil point opinions

    good enough.....thanks!!....may have them done tomorrow..... if I don't get heat stroke ;D.....finished 6 today tig welding the eyes closed....the pencil points is all that remains on all of them....then on to a few more....need to start tying spear head jigs now....gees so much to do and very little time left :boohoo:

    .
    [img width=640 height=480]http://i40.tinypic.com/106m3vc.jpg[/img]
    Bill..............

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Fish River
    Posts
    1,126
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 148 Times in 71 Posts

    Re: pencil point opinions

    They look good Iornman, very nice work.

  6. #6
    Go deep or go home
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    chillin' on a reef
    Posts
    1,902
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 226 Times in 99 Posts

    Re: pencil point opinions

    [quote author=ironman172 link=topic=743.msg6939#msg6939 date=1331685105]
    good enough.....thanks!!....may have them done tomorrow..... if I don't get heat stroke ;D.....finished 6 today tig welding the eyes closed....the pencil points is all that remains on all of them....then on to a few more....need to start tying spear head jigs now....gees so much to do and very little time left :boohoo:

    .
    [img width=640 height=480]http://i40.tinypic.com/106m3vc.jpg[/img]
    [/quote]


    LOL!! you're loving it - fess up
    Screw it. Let's ride.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4,781
    Thanks
    2,265
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 639 Posts

    Re: pencil point opinions

    [quote author=divedeep link=topic=743.msg6943#msg6943 date=1331686134]
    [quote author=ironman172 link=topic=743.msg6939#msg6939 date=1331685105]
    good enough.....thanks!!....may have them done tomorrow..... if I don't get heat stroke ;D.....finished 6 today tig welding the eyes closed....the pencil points is all that remains on all of them....then on to a few more....need to start tying spear head jigs now....gees so much to do and very little time left :boohoo:

    .
    [img width=640 height=480]http://i40.tinypic.com/106m3vc.jpg[/img]
    [/quote]


    LOL!! you're loving it - fess up
    [/quote]

    It is keeping me busy some....it was fun at first, the challenge and all figuring out things....but now that is over...well.....kind of like work now....that I did enjoy too, when I did work....most of the time....I will feel good when you all like them in person and get good use out of them getting fish on the deck....nice to know something that I made with my hands.... will be used by others...wish I could participate more often in the fun on the rock.....but as long as the in-laws are around....we have to stay close....this is just the spring break with the grand kids, that we are raising anyway.
    Bill..............

  8. #8
    Go deep or go home
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    chillin' on a reef
    Posts
    1,902
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 226 Times in 99 Posts

    Re: pencil point opinions

    I hear ya - just do a few when the mood stikes you. Keep it fun and not like a chore.
    Screw it. Let's ride.

  9. #9
    Old Fart
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Gulf Shores, AL
    Posts
    4,816
    Thanks
    1,260
    Thanked 2,161 Times in 764 Posts

    Re: pencil point opinions

    [size=12pt]Good points![/size]

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions needed!!!
    By Ben_Mo_Pelt in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-14-2013, 11:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •