Welcome to the Gulf Shores Pier Fishing Forum.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree25Likes

Thread: Penn or Shimano

Thanks

Penn or Shimano

I know. Age old debate. I’m looking for a medium action spinning real. Looking at the Shimano Sargaso and standard Sendona in 3000-4000 size. Small enough to cast and catch specks but enough spool and good drag to handle a 32” redfish and slab pompano. Line weight 8-12 lb mono. Surf and boat fishing mostly.

I have no experience with the Sargaso and like my Shimano Sendonas but they are a little finicky in saltwater even when soaked after each trip. Also would like to buy American.

What sayeth y’all. Thank you in advance.
    Pier#r likes this.

Thanks
    Penn reels hold up well if rinsed, look at a Penn Battle for a starting point.

We are getting there...
    Born, bred and someday dead in Midtown Mobile, AL
    Thanks
    Thanked 13,298 Times in 3,923 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Those Shimanos are a pretty good deal for the money IMHO.
    I like the Shimano drag on my lighter reels, even for surf fishing.
    I constantly lube the line roller, bail and bearing under the spool. And take them down to clean the drag and regrease the gears whenever they get "dunked".

But one of the best surf reels in that size range IMO is the Penn Spinfisher 3500.
    The VI series has seals to help keep water/salt/sand out of the gears and drag stack.
    The HT-100 drag system is one of the best in the industry... https://www.pennfishing.com/spinfish...inning-1454457

As far as "Made In The USA reels", only a handful are. And they are ALL heavy and expensive ...
    https://www.fishingcommand.com/spinn...de-in-the-usa/
    MarkS1320 and Haywire like this.

Thanks
    IMO

I like all my Shimanos but a Sedona doesn't compare to a Saragosa, and the Sedona isn't necessarily a 'saltwater' reel.

That said, I like my Accurist PT's more than my Penn Slammer 360 or my Battle ll so maybe I'm just weird.