Welcome to the Gulf Shores Pier Fishing Forum.
    Thanks

Hello everyone I'm a newbie and could use some info

I'm coming back down in august for vacation and i'm planning on spending most of my time on the pier fishing . so i'm wondering how the reels are that you can rent on the pier i only have BASS reels being from north alabama. also what should i bring and what all can i expect to catch during early august Thanks everyone i think i'm gonna love this site ROLL TIDE!!

Thanks
    Thanked 1,348 Times in 690 Posts

Re: Hello everyone I'm a newbie and could use some info

welcome...... and your talking the dog days of the summer...plenty of suntan lotion oke1:
    Bill..............

Thanks

Bring your spinning rod 7ft medheavy 4000 series reels with 20lb powerpro braid. I have piered going on 20kings with my striper jig rod I use below Pickwick and Wilson. If you have a 5500c or 6500c with 20lbtest and a heavy action rod I can show you a chugger rig that works awesome for Spanish. Good luck and anything I can do to help just ask. :fishing:

Thanks

Sounds good tater if you could send me a pic of how it's tied. I'm gonna try and get all my stuff ready before we head down. and also whats the best to catch to eat.I would like to catch a king olr anything really that i could cook up at the condo later

Thanks

YouTube king rig! Then the live LY rig is just a float with a leader!! But I will takepics. What part of NA are you from?

Old Fart
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,162 Times in 765 Posts

[size=12pt]There should be all sorts of fish biting in August; Kings, Spanish, Specks, Redfish, Whiting/Ground Mullet, Bluefish and Flounder to name a few.